The Decline of Morality by Janus Kane

First and foremost, let me say that I take no credit for the image, but is speaks to the article.

Secondly, this is a stream of consciousness blog. If you are looking for something that is structured and planned and well thought out, keep moving because this way lies insanity, and as most of my readers will tell you, that can be a scary place.

Are we headed toward the abyss? I’m sure that I cannot be the only one who finds myself shaking my head and thinking ‘wtf’ at least 20 times a day. I’m not the morality police or a prude by any stretch of the imagination. I think my novels speak clearly to that fact. What I am is an observer and what I have observed of late is both troubling and perplexing.

Everywhere you turn there seems to be more and more evidence that the collective conscience has taken an ugly turn. Let me repeat, I am no bible thumper, in fact I currently consider myself agnostic and maintain no religious affiliation. Being raised a Catholic, I know some things about structured religion but, as an adult, it became harder and harder to rationalize blindly following a cloaked figure on a pulpit who might very well be guilty of greater transgressions than I have ever considered. Ah, there goes one of those stream of consciousness detours.

To anyone who is paying attention, it is hard to deny that there has been a marked shift in the mentality of the public at large. Everywhere you look the bar on sexual mores has been lowered until it is touching the ground. Drug use has become common place and is accepted by almost all but the government officials who are in place to enforce the laws that have not yet caught up with the new social order. I’m not saying that is a bad thing and I am not condemning sex or drug use, per se, I am just commenting on the fact that things that were once the purview of the criminal element have now become completely commonplace. Hell, it is getting harder and harder to find children that have made it to their teens without some exposure to these lifestyle choices. When once, kids were busy playing dodge ball, now they are busy getting busy. Many are no strangers to sex, drugs or alcohol by their early teens.

Monogamy is gasping its last breath. People still flock to the alter to exchange their vows but are often breaking them before the ink is dry on their marriage license.

In addition, there is a prevailing attitude of ‘me’ that has reared its ugly head. Everywhere you turn, there is someone trying to screw someone else out of something. It seems to have become the swan song of the 21st century. The world has become overrun with Bernie Madoffs, just waiting to cash in on someone else’s misfortune or ignorance.

If you think I’m wrong, please let me know. If you agree with my observations, I would love to hear your thoughts on why and how this phenomenon has come to pass. Meanwhile, I will be contemplating where we are headed and how fast we’ll be getting there.

Leave a Reply

